dead men singing

Posted: 09/28/2017 in house of love, house of women

for quickly. dumpster dive.

______

she listens to the dead men sing

under the dryer

in the salon

reading cosmo.

(if those articles really worked, oh the

glaze-eyed goofy-grinned guys there’d be,

wandering in droves down university street.)

she’s listening to dead men sing

in her head

when i lower my face slowly in front of hers and

fake smile a hi, with a finger twirl.

look up from the huddle, helmet girl.

here comes trouble.

i have come to dig up jeremy

out of your stupid little cemetery of luv.

hang on j, imma comin’.

i bet those cops had never been in judy’s salon before.

they really do put their hands on your head

when they toss you in the cruiser.

lookit, evidence, stupid blond hair in my hot little hand.

jeremy, i have avenged thee,

and taken scalps.

see?

(man that’s a lot of damage. one word–conditioner.)

 

Comments
  1. hedgewitch says:

    Somehow I feel, conditioner may not be enough. How I have longed to rescue my lost loves from the cemetery of another girl’s head–only coal could actually do it, though. This one didn’t make me laugh so much as maniacally chuckle–which seemed appropriate.

  2. marley raine says:

    Oh my gosh, I love this!!! A thousand likety-likes up there! πŸ™‚

    Fantastic line breaks, controlling the reading but also the information seep. I adore Cosmo. The mag, and the man! πŸ˜›

    This is my favorite section:

    “she’s listening to dead men sing
    in her head
    when i lower my face slowly in front of hers and
    fake smile a hi, with a finger twirl.
    look up from the huddle, helmet girl.
    here comes trouble.”

    This is priceless: “out of your stupid little cemetery of luv”

    I used to “date” a guy named Jeremy. I’ll tell you that story later. But I do have a very pretty face to go with this poem. πŸ™‚

    “they really do put their hands on your head
    when they toss you in the cruiser.” … You slay me, girl.

    PRICELESS ending.

    Thank you for the reminder: I am completely out of conditioner.

  3. julespaige says:

    Hmm…. I read this and thought of the time I was tossed for a previously had gal…I was twice the rebound mid-term interlude. But so very glad to not have them – the guys. And can only wonder at the relationships they have. And conclude mine has got to be better and brighter! Well done.

    I dug into a flash fiction I wrote for my lines for this prompt. Cheers, Jules

  4. marley raine says:

    I love this:

    “when i lower my face slowly in front of hers and
    fake smile a hi, with a finger twirl”

  5. “Helmet girl” and the “finger twirl” image especially tickled my fancy…

  6. Ileana says:

    Images, appreciating the visuals I get from your words…always. xo

Leave a Reply

