hollyhocks

Posted: 07/01/2016 in house of memory, house of women

last house on the dead end,

no house across the steet

cos the one that used to be there burned down before i was born.

in the field there were old bedsprings,

allergy grass,

and tall big-leafed hollyhocks with pink blooms.

i decided they were the ghosts of old church ladies,

bent-backed from slicing pie at receptions.

every morning in summer, i waved to them,

wished them a blessed day,

and waited til i was out of sight to, as mama called it, start up with my bullshit.

Comments
  1. Rommy says:

    I like the mood you’ve set up with this. The imagery is really well done. It really pulls the reader in.

  2. Kerry O'Connor says:

    Aaahh! The blessed Coal Black. Always love it when she comes to town.

  3. hedgewitch says:

    Very visual poem, and that makes it work all the better I think. Hollyhocks used to line the alley behind the house I lived in as a very small child–I can remember them towering over my head–a very real presence. I love especially the last line here.

  4. Love the use of metaphor in this…and as Hedge mentions…yes, very visual. Enjoyed this. 🙂

  5. I do like the old ladies in there.

  6. Great imagery…I have seen a lot of those hollyhock ladies serving up Baptist cake….

  7. Sherry Marr says:

    I LOVE the hollyhocks, bent over like church ladies………and I feel that closing line. Been there.

  8. Sioux says:

    “… start up with my bullshit” is one hellacious line.

  9. and waited til i was out of sight to,
    as mama called it, start up with my bullshit.

    Let them be! One may not have to be with them. Brave poem!

    Hank

  10. Brendan says:

    My first wife grew up in a postage stamp of a picture of a postage stamp of a town in Idaho, and she showed me that place — burnt foundations, Mormon consequence, weeds, why she left forever.

  11. a girl says:

    Love these:

    “in the field there were old bedsprings,

    allergy grass”

    “bent-backed”

    from “i waved to them” down

  12. keep serving it up! even if i don’t know shit from shine….

  13. othermary says:

    I love the image of holly hock church ladies.

  14. dani says:

    thank you for giving me a laugh-out-loud moment.

Leave a Reply

