fence

Posted: 03/01/2014 in house of fools, house of women

something there is that doesn’t love a fence,

but judy works at the mortuary and lifted a little jewelry.

wouldn’t it probly be a sin to waste it,

now that it’s in our hot little hands?

that’s what judy asked me, though i’m not 100% clear about the “our” part.

anyway, i know this guy who used to go with my cousin and he knows a guy and

so we lost the jewelry and picked up a little cash,

then we both got our nails done and

now our hands really *are* hot,

sort of,  and the old lady would be glad she could do that for us,

wouldn’t she? sure she would.

it’s just like i always say, good fences make everybody happy.

____

for the robt frost thing at real toads.

Comments
  1. There should be SOME kind of perk for that kind of work…

  2. hedgewitch says:

    judy’s as bad as the taxman, stealin the pennies off yer eyes–I had a boyfriend once who used to stop at the graveyard and bring me flowers…I love the pragmatic side of coal.

    • grapeling says:

      I once got my mom flowers for mother’s day/ her birthday (they are very close and sometimes the same day) from the cemetery across the way. she asked, where did you get these? I told her that the person wasn’t using them anymore. she got a funny look on her face, said thank you, but please don’t do that again. ~

  3. Mama Zen says:

    Oh, this is dead clever.

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    Ha–saved from worms maybe–Yikes. k.

  5. Susan says:

    You’ve got me grinning so broadly that it wraps around my head! We were most likely writing to the same poem at the same time. I love the play in yours. Wish I had written it; grateful that you did.

  6. Ha.. the jewelery mortuary pair was really great rhyme.. and from that little gem (!) you develop this little story.. of a stash turned to cash..

  7. Kim Nelson says:

    I find this far more compelling than Frost’s “Fire and Ice”!

  8. just get is spent before the devil knows its gone.

  9. Haha! What an original interpretation of the old idiom! This really had me chuckling.

  10. Helen Dehner says:

    Shay Thing, you made my heart sing …

  11. wkkortas says:

    To say that is a clever take on Frost’s good fences would be an understatement. This is witty, understated, and just flat-out wonderful.

  12. dani says:

    well, you know, a girl’s gotta do whatever it takes to stay beautiful…

Leave a Reply

