hidden devils

Posted: 02/04/2014 in house of blues, house of change, house of love

saw a friend

and chattered a bit, in front of skip’s bakery

in our serious fash boots,

in the crappy snow.

i never saw it coming:

the flu she gave me,

but it found me like trouble follows a fool.

 

saw a magazine

on a table at the chopping block salon,

and asked judy to pass it my way.

i never saw it coming, but it found me:

the perfume ad stuffed between pages like a toad in a stone,

that set me sneezing

like a snot devil on a hot tin roof.

 

now here you are,

leaning on my kitchen table with your elbows,

talking same as always, but something feels wrong:

i get that leaving feeling,

like I’m gonna lose something fast.

it ain’t allergy,

and it ain’t flu.

it might be me,

but i’m thinking more likely, honey, it’s you.

Comments
  1. Mama Zen says:

    This is awesome!

  2. hedgewitch says:

    The title says it all–and there’s nothing worse than a chat over the kitchen table with another damn devil. My fave line here is ‘ like trouble follows a fool.” As always, coal nails it to the wall and it squirms helplessly.

  3. “serious fash boots…snot devil on a hot tin roof”

    Clever lines, as always.

  4. Ah… Hear that? It’s me giving you a mighty round of applause!

    but it found me like trouble follows a fool… Ain’t that the truth?

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    It is the ones you don’t know that will get you. Your details well chosen for vivid pictures. k.

  6. margaret says:

    Flu, allergies, and now the loss of a friend. Not your day! Should have slept in (but you wanted to show off your fancy new boots 🙂

  7. Susan says:

    Love this poem! Hate what hits from left field, with just a hint of foreshadowing.

  8. Kay Davies says:

    Love the surprise ending. I wasn’t expecting that. I was expecting H1N1 at least.
    Luv, K

  9. grapeling says:

    country song here – with the corollary being that old lovers are like snot filled kleenex, or something.

  10. dani says:

    lovin’ this, SP!

Leave a Reply

