kick the lock

Posted: 07/13/2013 in house of blues, house of crazy, house of fools, house of love

kick the lock

slip the noose

swear to god

me and you

 

cradled in a hollow tree

from the start, damned to need

and if i speak, you’ll know i’ve lied

if i say i’m satisfied

 

kick the lock

slip the noose

swear to god

me and you

 

damn the heart and damn the bells

that belong to someone else

the devil’s doing will just require

a taste of honey and hell entire

 

kick the lock

slip the noose

swear to god

me and you

 

catch the bird and break the wing

just to make her stay and sing

keep, cage, stay and store

then swing it from the sycamore

 

kick the lock

slip the noose

swear to god

me and you.

_________

for Real Toads mini challenge: passion

Comments
  1. hedgewitch says:

    Passionate hands do the devil’s work. This hit a space I’ve got that the scar tissue has not yet filled. The rhyme makes it all yet more killer.

  2. Has a blues feel or is that just my feelings? Like.

  3. Kay Davies says:

    Passionate indeed, Ms Coal, and I’d expect no less from you. Good work.
    K

  4. Mama Zen says:

    This is my favorite Coal EVER.

  5. Susan says:

    Tears here. You have no fear. Good.

  6. Helen Dehner says:

    Me and you, me and you, me and you, me and you ~~~ say it four times and it shall be true. This is an awesome poem, Shay.

  7. Maggie Grace says:

    I can’t claim to understand but feels very dark and sad. The repetition is so powerful.

  8. wkkortas says:

    (Slow golf clap across the ether.)

  9. Grace says:

    Like the refraining verse ~ Us versus the whole world, passionate take ~

  10. Second to last stanza rocks. Brevity makes it even more so. Nice one.

  11. Great rhythm and cool words – well done. Would make a great song.

  12. Passion…love the refrain….this is what blues is made of

  13. The bird got me – that was my situation. Doesn’t every woman relate to some of this? If not, what sadly uneventful lives they must lead, with no tales to tell.

    Shay, you kicked down the door with this one and proclaimed your supremacy!! Amy

  14. […] fireblossom‘s mini-challenge at imaginary garden with real toads: […]

  15. dani says:

    fuck! this is one of your best EVER!

Leave a Reply

