balm in gilead

Posted: 09/22/2012 in house of love, house of music, house of women

ever since i can recall

there ain’t been that much that i could change, at all;

clouds roll across the sky

january turn to april, then july,

and it don’t pause to ask me what i think.

as a child i had a puppy slept right on my bed

not so long a time and i was kissing his poor old gray-gone head;

then the first time i loved someone

such a short time and it was done

so it seems like hearts that rise are bound to sink.

but baby,

from the first day i knew your name

you’ve made me grin like a fool with the things you’ve always said

and when i’m broken hearted, when the world hurts me hard,

sweet honey, you are my balm in gilead.

it’s true it’s true

what that old bible always said,

that love can lift and love can mend–

sweet honey you are my

balm in gilead.

_______

Comments
  1. hedgewitch says:

    I don’t know where Gilead is, but I’m in total agreement about the balm.

  2. I’m not a believer, but I know that love can feel like a blessing.

    Love this:
    as a child i had a puppy slept right on my bed
    not so long a time and i was kissing his poor old gray-gone head…. Done it too many times to count.

  3. Ms Coal, you are certainly sumpin special in the poet department.
    K

  4. I have no idea where Gilead is either, but the poem was heavenly–sweet and simple–and as usual, your rhyme scheme snuck up on me…I had to double back and said to myself, “Dur.”

  5. Mama Zen says:

    This is gorgeous.

  6. w.k. kortas says:

    I agree with Mama Zen, though “gorgeous” may be selling it short.

  7. I loved this poem! I want to read it again and again…

  8. dani says:

    a balm, a calm, an easing of the heart… wondrous when someone can give you that.

  9. Great line: “so it seems like hearts that rise are bound to sink”

  10. ManicDdaily says:

    Wonderful poem. I liked beginning esp – with its lovely rhymes and rhythms. k.

  11. Beautiful words! The mention of your puppy was so tender.
    Rendition of song is beautiful, as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

