boosted love

Posted: 09/21/2012 in house of love

they say

you can never be mine…

they say

stuff i don’t listen to half of the time

oh gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

what i want, and we can get along.

build a fence

build a door

if you’re buildin’ one,

what’s the other one for?

oh gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

what i want

cos it can’t be wrong.

they say

my love might be better spent…

they say

a lot of stuff that don’t pay the rent

oh gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

gimme please

these pretty dreams

they say can never be mine.

_______

for Mary’s Mixed Bag “fences

as performed by Coal Black and Poison Apple at the Granger County Apple Fair and Outdoor Gun Swap, September 2012

Comments
  1. ManicDdaily says:

    Could be a song (even without shelter). But a profound one – I especially like the notion of gimmeeing what I want and then we can get along – well done. Loved to see that Apple Fair! K.

  2. Mary says:

    What strikes me in this is:

    build a fence
    build a door
    if you’re buildin’ one,
    what’s the other one for?

    A fence keeps people apart. A door opens people to the world. Interesting to think about which one to build!

    I like what Karin commented on above also. The gimmee aspect. Too many people seem to have the attitude: Gimmee this, and I will be your friend.

    I enjoyed your poem~

  3. I’m not a songwriter–unless it’s a rap–but I can imagine this poem as song lyrics. It’s jingle-y but also has some depth. Well done for an early-morning offering, CB.

  4. build a fence

    build a door

    if you’re buildin’ one,

    what’s the other one for?

    Now this just says it all for me!

  5. kaykuala says:

    So much more can be given that love can bloom unimpeded. Nicely!

    Hank

  6. hedgewitch says:

    coal knows whereof she speaks, as always–all the they-saying in the world means absolutely nothing compared to a good dream.

  7. Oh, Ms Coal, you sure do come at the world from your own perspective, don’t you? You make us think, and rethink, which is surely a good thing.
    K

  8. I too love the “build a fence, build a door” stanza……..Coal always sings with a lilt, and I so love her songs.

  9. w.k. kortas says:

    They say good fences make good neighbors, unless you’re really, really fond of your neighbor. Desire and musicality, mixed together to be pitch-perfect.

  10. Mama Zen says:

    I was at that show!

  11. shanyns says:

    This needs to be sung by a blues mistress…so good!

  12. Marian says:

    hah, what IS the other one for? gimme some answers! 😉

  13. Ella says:

    Wow your words box me in~ I can feel the disputes arising~
    I agree this could be a great song! 😀

  14. Helen says:

    Shay I could sing this! I’ve got a tune in mind …. oh, you are good!

  15. build a fence

    build a door

    if you’re buildin’ one,

    what’s the other one for?

    I loved that part

  16. wait, doors aren’t fences >?< Man, I've been building this prison all wrong. Great work here, as usual. Viva la

  17. dani says:

    gimme gimme gimme gimme more Coal! LOVE this one, SP!

  18. sreeja says:

    some great lines and very lyrical…..a lovely song….

  19. build a fence – build a door…one implies separation the other invitation….I feel the pain in this..the wanting of someone you cannot have.

  20. Kim Nelson says:

    Gimmee my dreams… yearning, desire and resoluteness scream into the mic…

  21. Margaret says:

    …gimmee, gimmee The desire of wanting something so strongly “it can’t be wrong”. We are pretty good at telling our selves that even when it isn’t true. Intriguing, I can’t tell if “they” are wrong or right…

  22. build a fence, build a door…how about a gate in your fence? Might save on construction costs. In all seriousness, very well done in true Coal Black fashion. Love this!

  23. Teresa says:

    Wonderful! I love the rhythm of this. I’m with everyone else, those lines “build a fence, build a door” are great!

  24. Poetic and profound point, coal…building a fence AND a door…made me think. 🙂

  25. “if you’re buildin’ one, what’s the other one for” … A smart question to ask.

Leave a Reply

