mercy!

Posted: 09/12/2012 in house of music, house of women

i like janis–

sure like joan–

but marlene…mercy.

who told hitler to take his reich

and stick it where the sun don’t shine?

marlene got no mercy for a bastard like that.

who looked the same nine kinds of fine

in a gown and gloves

or tails and top hat?

marlene, you could charm any girl or guy–

think i’ve seen “morocco” twenty nine times…mercy,

make me lose my mind.

i like janis–

sure like joan,

but marlene…mercy.

_____

for izy’s “out of standard” challenge at real toads: rebel girl

Comments
  1. wkkortas says:

    I would think a challenge such as this would be a hanging curveball in your wheelhouse, and you did not disappoint.

  2. Mama Zen says:

    You got that right!

  3. Fabulous response to the prompt, Ms Coal.
    I’m still trying to make up my mind between the Bronte sisters and Jane Austen.
    K

  4. Susan says:

    Mercy!!!! Right on. “marlene got no mercy for a bastard like that.”

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    She’s very beautiful. And cool. k.

  6. isadoragruye says:

    Wonderful choice, and I love that you chose to write from a coal black place. Marlene, oh Marlene…..grrrrrl. Viva la

  7. Annie Lennox’s voice is the perfect complement to the film clips. And the lines you began and ended with–also perfection.

  8. dani says:

    Lahd have mercy! you right up there with the other rebel women, Ms. Coal!

  9. Not easy to make a name for oneself as a woman, especially not in a period so dominated by men, both on the right and wrong side, but she knew how to stand out in a crowd. Bombshell!

  10. hedgewitch says:

    One of the original bad girls, and unlike so many,a class act from her head to her heels. Perfect subject–and, I might add, while it’s never easy being a rebel girl, it takes a higher level of integrity and courage and is a whole lot harder under a bunch of macho fascists.

  11. Love this line: “who looked the same nine kinds of fine” … And the mirroring in your opening and closing.

  12. lolamouse says:

    Indeed! (mercy.)

  13. I so love me some Coal Black…yeah baby.

  14. She did look fabulous either in a dress or, top hat and tails and, I loved the woman to woman ‘kiss’ she shared in Morocco too. Very nice tribute to a famous rebel.

    • Marlene was an all-time amazing woman. Perfect Rebel Girl. While Maurice Chevalier was happily entertaining Nazi troops in Paris, she was risking her life with the Resistance. The gorilla suit, her turn in The Third Man, that first spoken line in “Anna Christie,” “Gif me a visky, ginger ale on the side. And don’t be stingy, babeee.” GOD! She and Kate Hepburn in trousers before it was accepted. And entertaining into her dotage, looking fabulous… see what the boys in the back room will have/and tell them I died of the same… How many ways can I say I love this? And you are one of the Bloggrrrls I was writing of when I came up with this poem. Love, Amy
      http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/14/space-cadet-for-my-fellow-bloggrrrls/

  15. Ah Marlene…what a woman!

  16. margaretbednar says:

    Oh.. I used to draw her when I was in highschool.. I was so intrigued with her. A few years ago, I watched Sunset Blvd. and then watched it again the next night! She was so brave to take on that role in an era when actresses did everything to avoid the image of being “older” and “washed up”. Fantastic, thank you, and I need me some Dietrich! Off to search Netflix. I realize I have seen very few movies she did. Thank you, thank you. (you have exquisite taste)

Leave a Reply

