Lilah

Posted: 07/01/2012 in house of crazy, house of strangers

lilah come down

from where the chokecherries grow–

she slip low and quiet like the moon near dawn.

lilah don’t speak

from the runner boys’ trap–

roped her to a barrow wheel most of a week.

ain’t no teacher, ain’t no doctor,

ain’t no pastor put her right–

she sleep with the dogs

and the dogs don’t bite.

lilah come down

from where the chokecherries grow–

she only lift her face when the north wind blow.

_____

for Poetry Jam “mood swings”

 

Comments
  1. lolamouse says:

    That photo looks so haunted. This is such a moody, mysterious piece.

  2. Helen says:

    .. as I sat at my computer reading your poem, a feeling of (for lack of a better word) eeriness came over me. I was plunged into Lilah’s hell, Lilah’s world. So nice, this poem.

  3. rosemary mint says:

    I love “from where the chokecherries grow.”

  4. hedgewitch says:

    I agree, this is moody(sort of suits the prompt, eh) but I like the mood it creates, both of mystery and of the complexity of how life just is…plus, one of the craziest Beatle songs ever–and one I love. Sleeping with the dogs would beat out a lot of my old bedfellows, for sure.

  5. Chokecherries? Seriously? Sometimes I grind my teeth when I read your poems. Just sayin’
    It’s envy, pure and simple.

  6. Mary says:

    This does have a definite mood of sadness; but Lilah seems to be a survivor. One could have worse bedmates than dogs, for sure.

  7. brian miller says:

    whew…nice use of repetition in this shay….that last line, nice…and not having others to help i feel the aloneness…

  8. This is a dark and melancholy portrayal of Lilah ~ You just wonder how she will survive ~

  9. Mama Zen says:

    Dark, moody, and gorgeous!

  10. Ruth says:

    love this – the dark mood settles over one like a pall

  11. This would make the most wonderful song!!!!!!

  12. Amazing!!! “roped her to a barrow wheel most of a week.” This is so telling/chilling! Nicely done!!

  13. dani says:

    heart-rending! yet gorgeously written! and love the Beatles tune, too!

    thank you for joining in at Poetry Jam, SP!

  14. Mohana says:

    Beautifully expressed.

  15. Margaret says:

    oh my… you know how to set a mood. I just want to offer her my protection (and kick those boys in the ….)

Leave a Reply

