honey on the biscuit

Posted: 06/03/2012 in house of blues, house of change

i gave you honey on the biscuit, babe,

and seven sons in seven years;

i gave you honey on the biscuit babe,

and seven sons in seven years;

but when i gave you a darlin baby girl,

you said, “what you mean by this mess here?”

cats are creepin in the barn,

bible’s open in the hall;

cats are creepin in the barn,

bible’s open in the hall;

smoke cat stare you down and kiss

her fire kitten in the straw.

there’s somethin burnin in the fields,

pass those buckets from the well;

there’s somethin burnin in the fields,

pass those buckets from the well;

i’ll take my baby, go to San Antone,

and you can go to hell.

______

for real toads blues challenge.

Comments
  1. Ha! I had a feeling Ms Black might rise to the occasion! I love the refrains! I gave you honey on the biscuit, babe…
    Too good.

  2. Grace says:

    I can hear you singing these….Like the refraining lines too ~

    Happy Sunday Shay ~

  3. hedgewitch says:

    Says a lot about what’s valued and what’s not, and it’s always good to listen to the way coal lets it all hang out, because she don’t bite her tongue.

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    FAN.TAS.TIC. This is classic blues, and could be sung at any moment in a club thick-laced in smoke and regret. That last line stings like a scorpion, and he could not have deserved it more. I practically cheered out lout. Just great. Thank you!

  5. Wow, this is blues at its bluest. I’m impressed.
    K

  6. Mama Zen says:

    I can’t even imagine how this could be any better. Perfect.

  7. Mary says:

    That’s tellin’ him!

  8. Oh this is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! I so love it.

  9. Helen says:

    OMG! I played the music, sat back and just chilled! There’s nothin’ I can do ~ that’s one thing you can’t deny .. the guitar .. oh yeah.

    Great poem, Shay!

  10. Herotomost says:

    I didn’t know coal black had such southern fried roots…..”what you mean by this mess here” exactly what I’m talkin’ bout. Up in here we ain’t got time for no messes. Loved it.

  11. Marian says:

    yeah, i wanna hear this. and seven boys in seven years makes me ache. ouch.

  12. lolamouse says:

    I’m waiting for my tickets to the Coal Black concert! I want a T shirt too!

  13. dani says:

    i said it before an’ i’ll say it again ~ no one sings the blues better than Miss Coal!

  14. So sad, poor baby girl. Nice writing, Shay!

  15. rosemary mint says:

    The other day, my oldest daughter was confessing to having accidentally seen a boy’s “biscuit.” So this is extra funny to me. 🙂

    I love this line: you said, “what you mean by this mess here?”

  16. ManicDdaily says:

    Wonderful. I liked boneman too ==like them all. k.

Leave a Reply

