bridge to nowhere

Posted: 05/19/2012 in house of blues, house of crazy, house of strangers

think i’ll never be nothin?

i’ll show you somethin.

scored it, smoked it, four times, five.

think i’m just evil?

i’ll show you evil.

did the devil and the devil was fine.

people say coal, she’s outta control;

rage on coal, have another drink.

pain is art and the razor’s sharp,

bleed, coal, bleed, in the bathroom sink.

think I cause ya shame?

i’ll show ya shame,

every time i hear my name.

fuck it, floor it,

blow the red,

with any luck i’ll show ya dead.

_____

for Real Toads “Bridge of Asses” challenge. I chose to see it as an impossible road to walk. They say that if you don’t remember your last drink, you haven’t had it yet. Coal remembers.

Comments
  1. Helen says:

    This is mighty raw, mighty deep! Love it. (I remember my last drink ’cause I drink infrequently .. guess I have a few more to go)

  2. hedgewitch says:

    You have to know the dark side well when your name is coal black–and glad she crossed the bridge instead of jumping off it.

  3. Mama Zen says:

    This has phenomenal rhythm!

  4. No, no “dead” allowed in the same sentence with Coal……and my finely tuned AA-knowledgeable radar blipped a bit on that line. Sometimes everything is just way too hard. Coal Black writes it real.

  5. lolamouse says:

    Oh yes, the old “If that’s not enough, I can really make you hate me” routine. I cringe sometimes when I read your writing-it’s that good.

  6. margaretbednar says:

    Oh. This. Is. Raw. And so good, and just rips my heart out.

  7. People say coal, she outa control… I love that line – it’s in exactly the right position in the poem to create maximum impact. I’ve never had a drinking problem but I have lived with people who have, so words like these are always relevant.

  8. Teresa says:

    Such powerful emotions. Very unnerving to read.

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    Oh, my. This begs for rereading… definitely one of my favorites!

  10. Shawna says:

    These are powerful lines:

    “did the devil and the devil was fine”
    “bleed, coal, bleed, in the bathroom sink”
    “fuck it, floor it, blow the red”

    That’s a great AA quote; if you don’t remember the last time you almost killed yourself, you might do it again.

  11. Marian says:

    talking the talk, i see. good one.

  12. In this boat, impossible road for me too!! This is rich, raw, vivid, great job, coal!

  13. dani says:

    raw. real. riveting writing that hits me in the gut like an iron fist… stunning!

    and great song!

  14. wkkortas says:

    I have to agree that the rhythm and pacing of this piece is flat-out remarkable, especially when you take into account how vivid the imagery is. This is some remarkable work.

  15. whimsygizmo says:

    This is so powerful. I agree, remarkable.

  16. shanyns says:

    This is just so good, down to the bones good and true. Going to read again, and saving to read another time yet.

  17. Patti says:

    This is so powerful. And very sad.

  18. Damn Coal’s tough. She’s the “fuck you all” I want to be.

Leave a Reply

