riff me happy

Posted: 04/24/2012 in house of blues

the show tonight was shit.

those people,

they should toss us off a bridge and sink us

cos we stank and there’s no denying.

still, i almost cried in the middle of that one song,

when we got to the bridge, the part where your

keyboards sounded so good, always;

tonight norm had to fill in

cos you quit

and it wasn’t the same.

you had the way to make even a shit show better,

and to make me want to sing like i meant it.

tonight on the bus, i’ll stare out the window,

and the boys’ll leave me alone;

i’ll fall asleep around dawn and

if i’m lucky, you’ll show up in my dreams

and riff me happy one more time.

____

 

 

Comments
  1. Always liked Bob Seger.
    Love this poem.
    K

  2. lolamouse says:

    Life on the road would suck. Love the line “riff me happy.”

  3. Ruth says:

    riff me happy…

  4. hedgewitch says:

    Somebody’s got to write the sad songs–looks like coal got the job.

  5. Richard Cody says:

    I don’t hear in my dreams. Not that I can recall at the moment at least.

  6. Mama Zen says:

    Shows like that suck and suck hard.

Leave a Reply

