higher learnin’

Posted: 04/18/2012 in house of women

i ran into ishtar

sittin in a plastic chair readin marie claire

(“love your thighs!”)

down at jody’s chop shop.

she was waitin on a color n cut.

“you?” i said, my mouth catchin flies.

she gave me a look like i’d just fell off the hay wagon.

“honey,” she said over her glasses,

“goddess beauty doesn’t just happen.

like tina the nail tech tells me,

you never know who you’ll meet

or what you’ll learn

if you go to (jody’s beauty) college.

____

for Kenia’s Challenge at Real Toads

Comments
  1. Mary says:

    So true, you never know!!!

  2. Awesome, kiddo, especially: “Goddess beauty doesnt just HAPPEN.” Love it!

  3. You really master the easy conversational way in this, in a lot of yours! I enjoy them!

  4. lolamouse says:

    I have to get my hands on that Marie Claire issue! It’s so true, though-goddess beauty takes work, girl!

  5. hedgewitch says:

    I’m thinkin coal could teach Ishtar a thing or two herself.

  6. This had me chuckling. The ease of form and conversational tone suits this perfectly, and your message hits home juust right. Love it!

  7. ella says:

    Yes, goddess beauty does lend itself to torture~ We have to define the lines of how far we are willing and able to go. I want a reality show where Men have to be waxed, permed and plucked and walk in high heels… Let them wear a fake pregnant suit…you get the idea..lol

  8. Margaret says:

    I feel like I am in the seat next them, this write so captures the personalities, the moment… I can feel it:) And I so agree with ella (ha ha)

  9. Shawna says:

    Ha! Great ending: “if you go to (jody’s beauty) college”

  10. This was a very different approach – to be expected of Miss Black. I like the sense of celebrating. a little, the feminine mystique.

  11. shanyns says:

    oh how cool…love it!

  12. Laurie Kolp says:

    I think we should all pamper ourselves every now and then!

  13. Mary says:

    This reads like a slice of ‘down home’ real life! Love it.

Leave a Reply

