devil say

Posted: 04/15/2012 in house of crazy, house of women

devil say,

afternoon, miss coal.

devil sidle up cool and close.

devil swing from the grocery store cart–

devil hang from the next bus seat.

devil in the details, sure as you’re born–

devil in the pudding and the meat.

devil say,

afternoon, miss coal.

a girl’s never quite sure what he knows.

devil gon’ make lottie’s hair fall out–

devil gon’ make that other singer cough.

devil gon’ make that bastard’s thing

turn bad black and fall off.

devil say,

afternoon, miss coal.

i just smile and whisper low.

____

picture by susie clevenger. post linked with toads.

Comments
  1. Margaret says:

    Loved your poem & the Blood, Sweat & Tears. I jotted them down to add to my IPod πŸ™‚

    I could see you poem set to music like this! …now I’m off to church, this Sunday morning to rid me of the “devil”. πŸ™‚

  2. Somehow I knew you would choose this pic! And you have delivered a huge walloping blow with this one. “The devil and Miss Coal…”

  3. Shawna says:

    Uh-oh. Whispering with the devil will get you into big trouble, miss coal.

    Love this:
    “devil in the details, sure as you’re born–
    devil in the pudding and the meat.”

    I get so excited to see “Fireblossom” and “coal black” pop up together in a link-up. It means your personalities are flying wild and you are extra unpredictable that day. Love it. πŸ˜‰

  4. brenda w says:

    The repetition of devil gives the piece a strong voice. I love the last line.

  5. lolamouse says:

    It’s always helpful to be on good terms with the devil!

  6. hedgewitch says:

    I knew you would rev on this pic–not in this way though–i was expecting the inimitable Fireblossom to take on the iguana–but coal has her own squint (and sympathy) for the devil here, and it works out perfectly.

    Lucretia McEvil???? Now *that* is arcane.

  7. Mama Zen says:

    Wicked, wicked girl!

  8. Creepy and intriguing! πŸ™‚

  9. My, I love how you saw the devil in my lizard. ” a girl’s never quite certain what he knows” You weaved quite a spell Miss Coal.

  10. dani says:

    devil better watch out for coal!
    β™₯

  11. Marion says:

    Ole devil ain’t got nuthin’ on ms. coal thang. You done wrote him outta bidness!! Hal-la-lu-yer, sista’!

  12. wkkortas says:

    It’s cautionary and rollicking at the same time, which is damn near impossible and yet here it is.

  13. Herotomost says:

    I know its a forgone conclusion, and I will get in line and wait my turn, but I think I love you. Holy hell…….its difficult to get the accent right and this …OMG purrrrrffffeeeccctttt…Meow.

  14. M.A.S says:

    Oh I really like “devil in the pudding and the meat.”

  15. Zouxzoux says:

    Mz Coal needs to pin this on her wall and believe it:

Leave a Reply

