the pines

Posted: 03/29/2012 in house of blues

black girl, black girl,

don’t ya lie to me,

tell me where did you sleep last night?

in the pines, in the pines,

where the sun never shines,

and i shiver the whole night through.

(above song “black girl” traditional)

ain’t no fairy raindrop god

gonna set up a tent ’round here.

ain’t no tambourine angel

gonna spread her wings and fly you home.

come down by the graveyard,

wear my jacket, kiss me by the tilting stone;

any blessing we get, we steal ourselves

from the dresser drawer cradle to the six foot bone.

_____

for Ella’s challenge at Toads. words: pines, tambourines, raindrops, wings

Comments
  1. wkkortas says:

    Bits of myth, the blues, and folk legend wrapped up tightly and eloquently. Short, sharp, and first-rate.

  2. Margaret says:

    You outdid yourself! Love the rhythm and sassiness…

  3. Teresa says:

    Incredible writing! I am amazed at the ease you seem to have with these challenges. I agree with wkkortas that this poem incorporates the best of many different genres all wrapped together.

  4. Love it all: the words of the song, the musical accompaniment, and your poem, especially the ‘fairy raindrop god’, and ‘dresser drawer cradle’ – three word nouns!

  5. ella says:

    I love it and the music…I love the ending “dresser drawer cradle to the six foot bone”
    I want to go fill my visual journal, inspired by this one ;D
    Stunning!

  6. hedgewitch says:

    Dave Van Ronk used to do a killer version of that one, too.

    This is dark, yet the real in it has its own light. Got to pitch your own angel tent, and fly on your own broken wings. Amazing how far you can go, too.

  7. WOW!!!! “from the dresser drawer cradle to the six foot bone.” Every word in this poem sharp as a blade.

  8. Shawna says:

    “from the dresser drawer cradle to the six foot bone” … WOW

    I want some of these: “fairy raindrop god(mothers),” “tambourine angel(s)”

    Since I’m a Sag, I certainly will not wear your jacket. It sounds scary, and you know we are incompatible, Miss Gemini Genie. 😉

  9. lolamouse says:

    I love it when Miz Coal sings the blues.

  10. Mama Zen says:

    That last line does so kick the ass!

  11. Sharp wordery here! Yes, I know, wordery is not really a word but it is in my book and so I say it! You did a splendid job using the word group and creating some very visually contrasting images. I love the whole get-up very well put together! 🙂

  12. dani says:

    i LOVE tambourine angel! sing it, coal, sing it!

Leave a Reply

