come

Posted: 03/25/2012 in house of crazy

come across the field,

i ain gon bite cha.

come across the field where great grampy took an arrow through the kidney.

come look in the rain barrel where the possum drowned.

come across the field in them stiff new shoes,

leave you car with the door open, idlin in the road.

come across the field where mama doubled over.

that was me, and i still ain’t shy.

come across the field where the bad thing happened.

come do what you want, but i won’t cry.

come across the field,

watch your stride across the snake.

i know rope rots, and the name of your new bride;

you know how i can get, and the trouble i can make.

_____

for Real Toads.  Photograph by Kat Mortensen

Comments
  1. I had to read this out loud in the accent ( I fancy it was a bit Kentucky-ish) to get the full effect.

    Loved it!

  2. hedgewitch says:

    Thanks for the tag–for a minute I thought this was one of coal’s love pomes–but I see she’s talking in tongues again, and by god, I’m not crossin no field full of snakes to find out just exactly what she wants to do with me when I get there. This is excellent in mood and creepeddout to the max in effect, with just a sweetening dollop of crazysauce humor.

  3. I love the sassy voice and chilling images here ~ Very nice ~

  4. acadianeire says:

    I LOVE this! This is exactly the sort of dark route I, myself would have chosen. Thank you for doing great justice to my photo.

    ~Kat

    poetikat-km.blogspot.com

  5. lolamouse says:

    That field ain’t big enough to put the distance between me and whatever that girl’s planning! Crazy Southern chicks are the most whack-a-doodle!

  6. zongrik says:

    come do what you want but i won’t cry -> sounds like something that happens all the time in a dysfunctional relationship

  7. Herotomost says:

    Im a hangin’ this up on the door of the root cellar for that bitch neighbor to read just fore she goes to scratching at the cellar door. I reckon she don’t like spiders…..well I don’t like snitches, specially ones in taffeta. LOL……So reminds me of Lisey’s story and the bad gunky…..I looovvveeeee it.

  8. Mama Zen says:

    This is me jumping up and down and doing a weird shriek / squeal kind of thing. God, I love this.

  9. David King says:

    Takes no prisoners, this one – as poetry shouldn’t.. Well done.

  10. dani says:

    damn, girl! scared the shit outta me!

Leave a Reply

