hard to get home when you’re high

Posted: 03/04/2012 in house of blues, house of crazy, house of fools

it’s hard to get home when you’re high.

hard when you left your friends

without sayin goodbye

cos somethin came across your mind.

it’s hard to get home when you’re high.

hard when you can’t trust your eyes

with your arms wrapped around you

cos the wind starts to rise.

it’s hard to get home when you’re high.

hard with such clumsy feet and hands

hard when ya can’t hardly stand

hard for a girl out alone in the night…

it’s hard to get home when you’re high.

_____

for dverse poetics. picture by Walter Smith.

Comments
  1. lolamouse says:

    True that, girl.

  2. Chazinator says:

    Without a doubt. Got my glasses stolen, dropped off on the dead end of Santa Fe, hit by a car, and beat up by two guys. I like the repetition here of the main line, (so to speak).

  3. brian miller says:

    while we are having confession with coal black here…i woke up naked on a bean bag once…luckily the bean bag was mine…i still dont know how i got home…or where my clothes went…

    and you made my night coal.

  4. Sheila says:

    lol @ brian! I still can’t understand how when I had the gas pedal floored while driving on the highway one night (I was in highschool at the time) my speedometer wouldn’t register over 40mph for nothing!

  5. a very solid write. seems like a very familiar albeit kind of fuzzy feeling for me 😉

  6. Old Ollie says:

    used to make this a regular event…I’m reformed…more or less

  7. Marian says:

    yeah, i’d like to hear you sing this.

  8. markwindham says:

    lots of memories there…whew. Thankful each day I did manage to make it all those times. Good stuff.

  9. I hear this sung to a really slow plucked banjo and a melancholy fiddle.

  10. hedgewitch says:

    I’m with Kerry–this has a plaintive feel that belongs with a song, with either a fiddle or one of those skin-shivering harmonicas. It’s always hard for a girl out alone in the night.

  11. wkkortas says:

    A little Tom Waits-esque, but grittier, like, well, Tom Waits’ voice.

  12. whimsygizmo says:

    This reads like a song. Wonderful.

  13. Mama Zen says:

    Rockin’ some truth!

  14. Love this, it has a nice lilt and rhythm to it, and would make a great song itself.

  15. Ruth says:

    it is indeed… great rhythm and I can see the girl singin up her courage on the road

  16. It’s been a long time since I was a girl, but I remember all these things: “can’t trust your eyes” and “clumsy feet and hands” trying to get home.
    Good work.
    K

  17. Teresa says:

    There’s a whole lot of truth in this one. It can be dangerous to be a girl out alone.

  18. Corey Rowley says:

    Especially when home was the last place you wanted to be before getting high….this had a very Trainspotting or Less than Zero feel to it. The happiness and sadness of the high……strange bedfellows. Call next time….we’ll walk together.

  19. Heaven says:

    Yes, I can hear you sing this…I like the refraining line too ~

  20. kateri says:

    It does read a lot like a song…the girl out there alone in the night…

  21. Hannah says:

    I almost cried… And as for Brian… I was wondering where you were going with the bean bag…

  22. dani says:

    yep, i agree with everyone ~ this would make a great song, especially with a fiddle or harmonica… and the truth in your words!

    {love the music video, too.}

  23. shanyns says:

    Very cool, I’ve heard many friends lament this situation! Great share, and great confessions in the comments too (Brian – really? Wow! Bet you don’t look at bean bag chairs the same way anymore!)

  24. walter smith says:

    Thanks for the reflection on my art.

Leave a Reply

