missin’

Posted: 02/19/2012 in house of crazy, house of love

when i usedta whip those ashtrays atcha,

they was clean ashtrays,

and i missed.

how you miss the signs like that, baby?

how you miss the signals that i sent?

oh i miss ya more

than havin that old rib place right next door.

we usedta say

you go

no

you go

no

oh, them days we was always hungry,

weren’t we baby?

how you miss the signs like that, baby?

how you miss the signals that i sent?

i loved ya like

i loved havin the rent on time

like i was like to lose my mind.

you ever miss me like that, baby?

you ever miss

me pitchin shit atcha?

then kissin ya like that, and

sayin “i missed ya, daddy cat.”

you ever miss that?

like i miss you?

i miss it, sugar.

you miss it, too.

Comments
  1. hedgewitch says:

    Nothing says love like a thoughtfully flung ashtray, I always say. Love the tenderness underneath the defiance, and the glow that comes with the selective vision of hindsight.

  2. I think I may have once upon a time been in that marriage……..
    :Q

    Superb voice!

    Mimi
    Collage Pirate

  3. I’m with Hedgewitch on the ashtray thing.. These are all the signs of love. How could ‘daddy cat’ have missed them?

  4. Actually this makes me want barbecue for breakfast.

  5. Brendan says:

    Hurt is the spicy BQ sauce of love. – Brendan (p.s., Blogger won’t let me comment at your Word Garden, sorry)

  6. lolamouse says:

    Stupid guys never can read the signals.

  7. markwindham says:

    Love it. miss you, miss me, missed when I threw, miss the BBQ.

  8. Corey Rowley says:

    I love this poem, I could see it as a monologue for a one man show. And I have had an ashtray flung at me but it didn’t miss….different kind of love I guess….lol. You got it with this one fo sho.

  9. zongrik says:

    i think u jsut miss the BBQ

    private dreamliner

  10. Mama Zen says:

    Some people just don’t know a good thing when they see it.

  11. wkkortas says:

    Sometimes he brings you flowers, sometimes you miss him with an ashtray, and so love manifests itself as best it can. A love song in your own inimitable style.

  12. Mary says:

    Hey man – that sounds like true love. (Yikes)

  13. Oh I love Coal Black’s songs so much!

  14. I used this poem for Kenia’s challenge, Miss Black. Hope you don’t mind 🙂

  15. dani says:

    i threw a 12″ frying pan one time ~ missed on purpose and sorely regretted having thrown it ~ my favorite pan with a huge dent in it. ah, young love! {giggle-snort}

Leave a Reply

