raccoon

Posted: 12/20/2011 in house of blues, house of crazy

it was hella early,

not even light yet,

and i was rollin like a house ball

to my payin job.

saw a raccoon

dead as can be

up by the curb,

and another raccoon

sorta hovering near,

like a human woman who the doctors told,

but she never really fucking believed it

cos she loved the one on the gurney so much.

i never knew a raccoon would act like that,

all disbelieving and shattered and such.

i got to my payin job

and my fingers’d gone numb to the time card;

it did a fumbelina to the floor.

somebody said, what’s the matter, coal?

nothin…nothin…

but when i bunny dipped to get the damn card,

i felt like that bandit bent over its mate.

that’s when i knew

that it meant me, too,

and that we are all alone in this fucking world.

Comments
  1. Oh wow. Aint it the sad frickin truth?

  2. hedgewitch says:

    Gah–tell it coal–one of these days we’ll all be lying by that curb and I guess it won’t matter.. . I’ve seen coyotes do that too–they tend to run off pretty quick though–coyotes are realists.

    Perfect clip of a personal favorite with Raitt’s haunting bluesy voice, as well.

  3. Brendan says:

    This is pitch-perfect, Coal. Perfectly sung, and you hit all the minor sevenths.

  4. Old Ollie says:

    One can feel that way – this veil of tears…Raccoon tears?

  5. brian miller says:

    damn coal…little hard slap o truth in that…one day i will be roadkill…just hope its not the mail truck that gets me…smiles.

  6. Louise says:

    Too true, sadly…loved that track….I’ve had to go google some of the Amercanisms you’ve got in there….so uncool I am! 😉

  7. Mama Zen says:

    That’s damn sad.

  8. So sad…I have a woods behind my home…I have seen plenty of animals grieving…breaks my heart….nice work

  9. rosemarymint says:

    Love your closing.

    This was my favorite line: “it did a fumbelina to the floor”

  10. Kim Nelson says:

    Your turns of phrase and references to the every-day in a more-than-an-ordinary way made me love the telling of this tale. I’ve not been here for a while, Coal. How disappointed I am for that!

  11. dani says:

    they say elephants mourn their dead, too……

    even if someone is with us, holding our hand, we’re still gonna be leavin this world alone…

    love Bonnie Raitt ♥

  12. Mark Butkus says:

    What an introduction to your poetry.

Leave a Reply

