spill

Posted: 09/20/2011 in house of change, house of women

we were drinking iced tea

and talking shit,

when you told me that you and your man

would be leaving.

i felt so angry

at your little smile

that my hand shook,

and my glass slipped off the arm of the porch chair.

there is always a moment

between fall and break,

when i think that, maybe

i can stop this.

maybe

the pretty painted boards

won’t be as hard as i know they really are;

but then the sharp sound of a fragile thing shattering

makes you stop mid-sentence

and i go inside for the dustpan and broom.

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. hedgewitch says:

    I always try to catch the glass, but that usually just sends it spinning out of control, and it hits even harder. Sometimes things just have to fall and break. Most everything I have left is made out of plastic. Fine writing.

  2. Pat Hatt says:

    I catch it sometimes, sometimes not, great verse!

  3. Love the coal fired depths of this one, I too always try to prevent the breaking in life but am slowly learning I often can’t avert disaster.

  4. the word bar says:

    indeed.. one of the better poems I have read tonite…

  5. Heaven says:

    Like the capture of that moment.. yes, if only we can stop that fall ~

  6. brian says:

    it is a long way down from arm to floor…a long time to ponder what comes next…

  7. I could feel the anger boiling with the expression coming out in shattered glass. I kind of wanted to read more, to know more of what was happening here. Well done 🙂

  8. dani says:

    “there is always a moment

    between fall and break,

    when i think that, maybe

    i can stop this.”

    if only…

  9. Brendan says:

    Heart or sweet tea? That’s the question. Of course, but the motion either way is equally blithe. It’s just that one is so much crueller.

  10. It would be nice if we could stop the fall. It is a long way down and sometime hard to stop this is a great poem and so well expressed
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/20/the-fait-of-our-lands/#comment-1018

  11. Mama Zen says:

    The fall is so fast and so slow at the same time. I always think that I can stop the shatter, too.

  12. I really like this poem. So many important moments in life are tiny ones like this, and poetry is the best way to draw attention to them.

  13. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been there! It’s like a impending car wreck, you can see it’s going to happen, you can’t swerve and you can’t brake faster and there is just absolutely no doubt so you brace yourself best you can and then……… time stops. It takes forever for the actual crash to get there. Same with that falling glass…. I hate that. Time slows and that thought does go through your mind of the thickness of the glass and the hardness of the floor and is it going o shatter and I am seldomly wrong, but when I am wrong it is gleefully so because that’s when I watch it bounce, and bounce, and bounce, and my spirit is lifted because somehow, by some uncanny grace of God, that thing is not going to shatter. But once I had that feeling, that feeling because it looked like it wasn’t going to break but on the fifth or sixth bounc it just shattered into a million pieces. I mean that took me through the whole realm of emotion, from “uh oh” to “thank God” to “Oh no.” Awesome poem about an awesome instant in all of our lives… really refreshing….

    • Don’t think she was sweeping up glass & iced tea! This is a walk on the wild side over here! Love the juxtaposition, the off-balance of it all. How visual this is, how cutting, how delicious!

  14. I’m one of those “we can glue it” kinda girls. Loved this, made me want to know the rest of the story.

  15. ed pilolla says:

    we notice hanging moments like that at specific times. sometimes i stick my foot out and maybe save the glass from breaking but then end up with a bruise on my foot.

  16. fabulous, wow.

    this is incredible.

    glad to read you and love your blog.
    welcome sharing your poetry with us today,
    first time participants can do free linking up to 3 poems, you can write for our challenge if you want to, no obligations, we are open until Thursday night, 8pm…
    hope to see you in.
    keep up the excellence.

  17. lolamouse says:

    Wow. You really nailed that moment. I love it when I read a poem and find myself nodding in agreement and saying “yes” to myself. I’ve been there.

  18. I must see darkness everywhere…I imagined that when ur character said ” the pretty painted boards

    won’t be as hard as i know they really are!” what you really meant was that this girl hit the floor often as if to say she got beaten by a husdand or something. But girl, you’re good and I mean really good. I’m thinking of subscribing to your blog but then I already received millions of emails. Oh go on. One more then.

Leave a Reply

