cross-culture

Posted: 07/10/2011 in house of crazy, house of fools, house of love

i had this gross dream

where everyone i ever slept with–

those i recollected and those i dint–

dropped by without callin’

and all at once besides.

whoa.

they lined themselves up at my front door like chinamen at a train station

and said

(all together like they was in some kind of dumb-ass play)

“we forgive you”

“we have moved on”

“we have found peace”.

well fuck me and call me uncle bob

if i need a row of orange popsicles forgivin me first thing in the mornin.

i said, good for y’all,

and shut the door on ’em.

when i woke up,

it were sunday mornin.

i said,

jesus christ on a bicycle,

maybe they are,

but i’m not half serene enough for this shit!

_________

this spiritual lesson delivered in connection with one shoot sunday and this picture here.  –coal

Comments
  1. dustus says:

    What a nightmare…. Slam the door and say uncle (bob). Thanks for sharing, Mr. Black

  2. brian miller says:

    haha…you are a trip…that dream might just give me insomnia

  3. Claudia says:

    ha what a nightmare…!! i love your writing shay and thanks for the spiritual lesson..will write it down and store it under my pillow..in case they ever start to line up in my dreams…ugh…

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    lol keep comin’ back!

  5. Chris G. says:

    Haha, a crazy house indeed…delightful voice to a horror of a thing! Great take – colorful take. Who *would* be serene enough for that?

  6. hedgewitch says:

    I’ve had this hideous nightmare myself before–punish me if you must god but please, not that! And those people *do* look like orange popsicles, now that you mention it.

  7. zongrik says:

    I like how you said “whoh” seemed like in a western movie, when the horse really does rear as the cowboy says “who.” the voice is like someone i know 😉

  8. Mama Zen says:

    No forgiveness before coffee!

  9. jinksy says:

    As long as you can forgive yourself too…

  10. kez says:

    how awful ….will you ever sleep again ? really made me smile , thank you

  11. macdougalstreetbaby says:

    Gross is right.

  12. lolamouse says:

    Eek! I wouldn’t forgive them for waking me up on a Sunday morning!

  13. Reflections says:

    Wow… what a nightmare! Sure it was a serene Sunday morning?

  14. Brendan says:

    Those jerks were probably saying it to just get you to say it back. The nerve of those bubba buddhas, shuffling twelve steps toward your front door. When all you’re were asking for was three steps out the back one. Don’t worry, they’ll eventually shuffle off, muttering their Sunday-best taos of complicity and faith: You just keep comin’ black, Coal.

  15. siubhan says:

    I agree with Mama Zen: no forgiveness before coffee! I liked the poem a lot to start with, but then when I clicked the link and saw the picture you took the inspiration from, I was blown away by the creativity behind the piece–what a story you put to that photo! Brav-a!

  16. dani says:

    oooh! i like yours best of everybody’s! i once had 3 ex’s meet in a bar and talk about me while the night went on and the drinks kept comin ~ one of ’em i’d actually been married to. they {all 3 of ’em} called me up about 1am to tell me ….well, i don’t know what they were gonna tell me cuz i hung up.

    at least it wasn’t a Sunday morning.

    great story! Fabulous take on the prompt! ♥

  17. ayala says:

    I was thinking what a nightmare that would be and then I read it again and smiled. You have a way with words …:) I like it!

Leave a Reply

