exit

Posted: 03/14/2011 in house of change, house of strangers

there are freeway ramps

everywhere.

all over the country,

wherever you are,

there is a way out.

it is just these nails through our cuffs that keep us in place.

it is just these nails through our feet that keep us so holy.

you don’t have to stay sober

and you don’t have to stay here.

you don’t have to be nice.

you just need pavement, a tank of gas,

and a way not to think about

to what and to whom you didn’t say goodbye.

Comments
  1. coalblack says:

    fireblossom told me it needed to be “to whom.” she’s such a goody good.

  2. hedgewitch says:

    There’s always a way out, indeed. I never could read a map, though, myself. I usually ended up lost–but at least the nail holes start to heal.

  3. Oh my God, this is great writing and it says so much. Love the “wherever you are, there is a way out”, though the underlying pain and darkness make one think of more permanent exits, especially “to what and to whom you didn’t say goodbye”. Yikes, Shay, stark, and it hits me right in the heart. Bullseye. Fantastic writing!

  4. lolamouse says:

    But how do you get away from yourself? Maybe that’s where the alcohol comes in?!! Have I said that I love your writing? I’ll say it again-I love your writing!

  5. Mama Zen says:

    Something about this really gets to me. Damn.

  6. Tess Kincaid says:

    I love this piece. And so timely with the tragic events in Japan. “it is just these nails through our feet that keep us so holy.” This line says SO much.

  7. wkkortas says:

    The notion of holiness being something that holds you back, or even a crucifixion in itself, is interesting and then some. Another fine piece of work.

  8. Kim Nelson says:

    SO much truth in this one. Choice. It’s all about choice. We choose a hundred times a day, creating our reality, or at least our reaction to what goes on around us.

  9. Brendan says:

    Nothing like the effortless glide of falling wherever the night wind blows … til the ground starts coming at you real fast. Some choice, eh: Crucifixion’s nails (a specie of desire, maybe even love) or freefalll’s unmarked splat. Yuk. – Brendan

  10. dani says:

    i hope i never need to exit again. amazing!

  11. gillian says:

    Hey! Would you believe I just JUST saw your comment on the blogspot page that you left two months ago.
    Honestly, I should just delete that old space.
    I’m now at gilliandasilva.com
    and have been for sometime. Sorry, I thought you knew!!!

    Your writing is still so wonderful and I hope you are doing well!!!! TTYS!

  12. Belinda says:

    Ah! The exit signs are everywhere, and I get the urge to take it every now and then but yet these damn ties that bind have such tensile strength…

  13. Your poems are pretty straightforward and easy to relate to. props.

  14. Marinela says:

    Liked your poetry, great creative work!

    Short Poems

Leave a Reply

