stacked

Posted: 01/18/2011 in house of women

my mama

my aunties

my grams

weren’t but a couple inches taller

than me

if ya stacked ’em.

daddy got drunk

and i stole from his billfold

to buy my first

used guitar.

mama said, child

what have you done?

aunties said, baby

you gonna get beat.

he woke up,

missed his money,

come looking for me.

my grams no bigger than a prize hen said,

i took it,

to pay bills you don’t, so

what you gonna do?

daddy curled his lip

then backed down.

i said,

grams,

if he hadn’t of,

what was you gonna do?

she said,

brain him with

your new guitar

(which stood leaned and pretty

in the corner

of my room.)

for magpie 49

Comments
  1. Suki says:

    I love this poem you take us right into another world

  2. willow says:

    Wow. THIS is delightful. I particularly like “weren’t but a couple inches taller than me
    if ya stacked ‘em” and “no bigger than a prize hen”. My little “Auntie”, as we called her, stood only 4’10”. Nice, nice piece.

  3. Little Hat says:

    Nice one coal black. Rattles along like a tram car.

  4. Reflections says:

    Great humor in this piece, love the ending lines. Wonderful write.

  5. lolamouse says:

    I can just see this in my mind! Strong women who aren’t afraid to stand up for the kids they love. Great piece of writing!

  6. Andreas says:

    I like your style. Nice flow to this.

  7. Martin H says:

    Oh, this is good!

  8. Kay Davies says:

    Ooh, that was very good. Wise and goodhearted grandmother.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  9. Oh you gotta love those Grams they are the best!!! Actually this hit so close to home as I could just hear my Gram saying that to someone. She was a pistol.

  10. bkmackenzie says:

    what strong, fine ladies…..bkm

  11. jinksy says:

    Interesting solution on offer here! LOL

  12. Marian says:

    oh! so very nice to meet you.
    love “brain him” in particular.

  13. sue j says:

    I absolutely LOved this. Great Magpie. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  14. Mary says:

    This is really good. Love the title, and what we learn it means as we read. One question though, at the end is it supposed to be the ‘guitar (which stood leaned and pretty…’ or ‘lean and pretty’?

  15. Teresa says:

    Incredible strength those women had! You’ve created a powerful tale.

  16. Helena says:

    YAY! Guitars and grams rule! I loved this piece and it’s perfect ending.

  17. Amen for GRAMS!

    Oh, I loved this one. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

